Kalanggaman Island, Leyte – to the picture-perfect sand bar of Kalanggaman

Kalanggaman Island is the talk of the town because of its exquisite features. I’ve been living here in Cebu for almost a month now and found out that I could easily get to Leyte by using fast craft. I did this trip solo since I have to think about some things. I have only Php3,000 and some coins in my pocket plus it’s the rainy season so I have to YOLO it out!P29Jn1469970366

From Manila To Kalanggaman

Take a flight to Tacloban city. From Tacloban city, take a bus/ van bound for Palompon. Travel time is 3 hours.

From Cebu To Kalanggaman

Take a ferry from Pier 1 to Ormoc city. I chose SuperCat 2go but they ran out of Tourist class so I have to pay Php890 for Business class. They gave me a bottle of mineral water and some snacks. Travel time is 3 hours. Just right in front of Ormoc pier is a terminal where you can ride a van bound for Palompon; fare is Php110. Travel time is 2 hours max. I met a group of travelers in the van and they let me join their Island trip (Thank you!). I paid Php900 for RT boat transfers, accommodation, island entrance fee and full board meals – STEAL! Travel time from Palompon port to the island is just 30 minutes.

I heard you can also go here from Malapascua but you have to endure a 2-hour boat ride to get to the island.

From Palompon to McArthur Site

It will take you 3 hrs via van for Php150. Tell the driver to drop you off at BIR. From BIR, take a tricycle to McArthur Site for Php20 (solo) and same way to go back to BIR. To go the terminal, take a jeep from BIR to van terminal for Php13. From Tacloban to Ormoc pier, take a van. Travel time is also 3 hrs and fare is Php130.

Tents for rent are available in Palompon Pier for Php200. The island also has an entrance fee of Php150 (daytrip) and Php250 (overnight). Kalanggaman is definitely breathtaking. The sand bar isn’t completely composed of white sand (it is mixed with pebbles and corals) but still beautiful. I sat on the tip of the sand bar and spent an hour there just chilling and resting. The view was just perfect. This trip is definitely one for the books since it is my first time to visit a province alone. I’m really thankful to have met the people during this trip. The most memorable lines I got from them when they heard I was riding solo:

(Asked ate to take a picture of me) Me: “Ate pwede mag-emote?”

Ate: “Siyempre! Kaya nga tayo nandito eh para mag-emote. Kaya ibigay mo ang best mo, dali!”

When I was about to leave for Tacloban

Ate Eds: “Basta magingat ka, ha? Mahahanap mo din yan kung ano man hinahanap mo, mo wag ka magalala” – I don’t know what she was referring to :p

E8XQc1469970159Day 1 

4:00 am – Cebu city Pier 1; buy ticket

5:30 am to 7:30 am – 3 hrs travel time from Cebu to Ormoc

7:30 am t0 9:30 am – Travel time from Ormoc to Palompon via van

9:30 am to 10:00 am – Travel time from Palompon to Kalanggaman Island via boat

10:00 am to 5:00 pm – Enjoy the island!

5:00 pm to 5:30 pm – Head back to Palompon

Dinner/ Sleep

Day 2

9:00 am – van from Palompon to Tacloban

12:00 nn  – ETA in Palo/Tacloban

12:10 pm – ETA in McArthur’s Landing Site/ Free time/ Lunch

2:00 pm – van from Tacloban to Ormoc

5:00 pm – ETA in Ormoc pier

5:30 pm – boarding to Cebu

8:30 pm – ETA in CebutLre51469970215.jpg

  • Php890 – One way fare via 2Go SuperCat on business class (they ran out of tourist class)
  • Php25 – Terminal fee
  • Php110 – One way fare from Ormoc to Palompon (van)
  • Php900 – Share (RT boat transfers; full board meals; accommodation)
  • Php10 – Potpot fare to van terminal bound for Tacloban
  • Php150 – One way fare Palompon to Palo/ Tacloban (van)
  • Php40 – RT tricycle ride to McArthur Park/ to BIR
  • Php13 – Jeepney fare from BIR to van terminal bound for Ormoc
  • Php130 – One way fare from Tacloban to Ormoc (van)
  • Php520 –  One way fare via OceanJet on tourist class (promo – 1 day advance booking; non-refundable)
  • Php250 – Food and water

Total is Php3,038. You may contact our boatman here – 09366520912. I’d like to thank the group who took me in. I appreciated everything (especially the unli food!) that you guys did for me.

2 thoughts on “Kalanggaman Island, Leyte – to the picture-perfect sand bar of Kalanggaman

Leave a Reply

